Daydream

"Daydream" pen, ink and colored pencil, 2010 by: Chrissy Miles

About Beauty and Dreams

I'm just a lady in Portland, OR. Check out my blog! Drawings, collage and more!
This entry was posted in Drawings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daydream

  1. Tincup says:

    I like this sketch. I have always loved trees. Many have praised the tree…I wish I could be like a tree…provide shade, remain silent, stand tall and strong and reach for the light, provide precious air for other creatures, and when I die…have a use to keep others warm.

    • Your comparison reminds me of my Bloom collage. It is a metaphor exploring feeling like a flower blooming in the dark. Something about the idea reminded me of a koan. Something like if a tree falls and no one hears does it still make a sound? If a flower blooms and there is no one to see is it still as beautiful? Or something like that. The trees in that collage symbolize a silent presence.. there is life all in that picture, so the flower isn’t really alone.. even though everything seems separate.

      • Tincup says:

        I liked that collage…I think you are speaking of the one with the trees that are inverted? I have always struggled with that cliche…if a tree falls in a forest and none hears it…it is so typical of our human centric mentality…if a star explodes in space and we don’t see it or hear it…did it really happen or is it relevent…of course it happened…in fact…it would be fun to write a little riddle or poem on this topic…perhaps I will…reverse it…something to the idea like…away from earth, deep throughout the universe where there is no sound…not a human voice or human concern can be heard or seen…therefore…does the human even exist…does the human even matter?

        I tried to subscribe to your blog but you don’t have a button:) Do you know how to add that? It is in the widgets section. I hit the follow button but that damn thing doesn’t always work:)

  2. I struggle with it too. I think you are supposed to struggle! It’s all about paradox. It’s like being utterly alone and utterly connected to everything else always all of the time. We can’t exist without paradox. The flower matters, the flower blooms, regardless of whether it seems to matter.

  3. clinock says:

    sitting quietly,
    doing nothing,
    spring comes,
    grass grows by itself.

Leave a Reply

