Kick Ass Tomato Sauce

This isn’t a cooking blog, but since I am currently working on something and not ready to share it* (see note), in the meantime I thought I would impart the way I make pasta sauce. Cause, why not, right? I get a lot of compliments on my sauce.

There isn’t a recipe, this is the kind of sauce that changes depending on what’s on hand, but some things are always the same. First, I always drizzle olive oil in  a pan and add 2-3 cloves coarsely chopped garlic and about half a chopped onion. (This is for about half a bag of pasta, use a whole onion for the whole bag.) I sprinkle the pan with salt, a few turns of black pepper, and a sprinkling of white pepper. Then if I have it I’ll add some fresh basil. I usually just use some basil paste that I keep in the fridge to have on hand for when I need it. (If you haven’t used it before it’s awesome- It lasts much longer than fresh and still has a nice flavor. When I buy fresh some always inevitably goes bad cause I don’t use it in time. A couple tsp is good.) I also add some red pepper flakes for a kick. Then I add the sauce. I usually just use whatever store bought sauce I have on hand.

Now that is good just like it is, if you want something simple. I always taste and add more salt if necessary. I spread it on toasted bread and eat it while I’m cooking if I am impatient for the pasta to be done.

I personally, eat mostly vegetarian, so if I have it on hand I will cook it the same way except add veggie crumbles as a sub for ground beef and drizzle on more olive oil to brown it before adding the sauce. That is my favorite way to eat it cause it has a nice bite. So if you eat meat you might want to brown ground beef with the veggies and spices and then add the sauce. A few splashes of red cooking wine goes great in it.

Last time, I did something different that was surprisingly good. No basil, but with the spices I added a sprinkling of cinnamon, and just a pinch of nutmeg and cloves and added extra red pepper flakes, and then added red cooking wine when I added the sauce. Oh, man. The headiness of the wine with the smell of the cinnamon, and the cayenne.. I could see it as being a romantic dish, if you know what I mean? Cook it for someone special: Like you.

Oh! RE: Cheese. With the spices last time, I didn’t add parm on top cause it didn’t seem to go, maybe if I had a richer cheese. Cooked the usual way I think parm/mozzarella goes good on top, maybe with a basil sprig to be fancy. (I do still eat cheese.. it’s hard to give up!)

Sorry, no picture! I don’t have a fancy camera at the moment.

*Note: I’ve been working on something I was excited about, a comic drawing, something that is a little more intricate, for the past two days. I actually stayed up til 2 am finishing it. But, once it was done.. I started picking at it trying to get the eyes right.. and completely ruined my drawing. In its ruined state, I kept messing with it (experimenting with what I was missing), and did get it too look like my reference, but then I realized.. my version was better! So, c’est la vie! Back to the drawing board..

About Beauty and Dreams

I'm just a lady in Portland, OR. Check out my blog! Drawings, collage and more!
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kick Ass Tomato Sauce

  1. Tincup says:

    Sounds yummy…you also need to recommend the right wine to drink with it. Look forward to your new comic drawing.

  2. Good point! I would pair it with an earthy red like a Cabernet Sauvignon or a Merlot.

  3. Tincup says:

    🙂 need the specific label and vintage…and what about a salad to compliment:) LOL..have a good evenning B&D.

  4. Vintage! Psh.. Whatever man…. 😛

  5. Tincup says:

    :)…even if you named one…I wouldn’t know it…LOL

Leave a Reply

