Day of the Dead All Year

While xmas shopping this year I discovered so many cool treasures & many of them happened to be Day of the Dead themed.. I know I have a few Day of the Dead lovers out there who read this! Here are a few of my favorite finds:

Day of the Dead Loteria at Mexican Sugar Skull.com

(In case you don’t already know, Loteria is basically Mexican Bingo. It’s name means “Lottery.”)

Loteria Hair Fascinator at LittleAsianSweatshop This store is so rad! She has hair fascinators made of comic books, playing cards, dice.. even tarot cards!

Skeletons Drinking Shot Glasses at dnacreations I want just about everything at this shop! It’s all  Day of the Dead, retro pin-ups & more on shot glasses, flasks, cigarette cases, wallets, coffee mugs, you name it.

…There were a few more but I’ll stop there!

Oh! One more thing. This shop sells blank playing cards you can decorate yourself! How cool is that?

 

 

About Beauty and Dreams

I'm just a lady in Portland, OR. Check out my blog! Drawings, collage and more!
This entry was posted in art, Crafts, entertainment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day of the Dead All Year

  1. karexoxo says:

    I find it really interesting, I find Dia de los Muertos items everywhere, I even bought a lighter once at a gas station with a DDLM design on it…I felt it interesting and empowering to myself (as a Xicana).

  2. I really love the ascetic. I love that besides remembering and paying tribute to the dead, it feels very much like a celebration of life and very life affirming.

  3. Tincup says:

    Interesting stuff. I may be coming down to Portland early January to visit brother and play some golf. It would be fun to drink a pint or two with you or with you and your friends or boyfriend or husband or whatever…or if you have your daughter a coffee or ice cream or two…no pressure…just an invitation from a fellow wordpresser that enjoys your blog. Hey…where does Clinock live? If he were in Portland that would be fun.

    • Thank you for the invitation, however i’m not sure I’m ready to meet my readers yet!! Maybe someday..

      • Tincup says:

        A wonderful response. I only know one person in person on WordPress and that is my old brother. There is freedom in writing to strangers and a sense of privacy despite sharing content. I’ll offer another invitation perhaps in the Spring or Summer 😉

  4. clinock says:

    Hey Chrissy and Tincup – I live in Vancouver, Canada, not that far from Portland. I agree, it would be fun to meet up, however, I’m leaving for Mexico early January and won’t be back until mid-March. Perhaps a future date may work – love to meet you both (or if you are ever in Vancouver!). Chrissy, your Dia de los Muertos finds are wonderful, I especially like the Loteria cards – I will be looking for them in Mexico and may bring some back.

    • Tincup says:

      Vancouver BC? My favorite city and then Portland in this area. I have been there often. Next time I am headed North will shoot you a note! I wish you much creativity in Mexico.

Leave a Reply

