Space is the Place: Sun Ra

I was so excited when I discovered that Sun Ra’s Arkestra is still touring. I just sent them an email telling them to get their asses to Portland. So, if they do make it here, and you are in the neighborhood you can thank me in advance!

If you haven’t heard of Sun Ra, he was this really incredible jazz musician… who also thought he was from Saturn… a little? Okay, maybe a lot… and maybe he was! Who am I to judge? I don’t care where he was from though.. his music is the best.

His discography is huge, one of the largest in music history; so I should probably assume most people have heard of him.. I only stumbled across him a year ago and was blown away.

I really don’t know how to explain him, so I will share two links of his and you can see for yourself. Here is an excerpt from a film he did called Space is the Place and a link to one of his songs.

About Beauty and Dreams

I'm just a lady in Portland, OR. Check out my blog! Drawings, collage and more!
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

