Great Inspiration: ARAS.org

My well loved copy. (Please excuse the ink stained table!)

A great inspirational resource is The Archive for Research in Archetypal Symbolism (ARAS.org.) C.G. Jung started it as a collection of archetypal symbols to stimulate the collective unconscious. They published a Book of Symbols that is one of my most beloved books*. I posted a few pics from my own to sample what it looks like.

I really recommend following their Facebook and signing up for their newsletters, probably, the only email newsletter, I actually read. They usually post groupings of 3 images like: bone, woman, bee, etc; that are just gorgeous.

Acquiring their desktop calendar is on my “to do.”

ARAS Book of Symbols: Left- Carnelian Heart Amulet, 7th-4th century BCE Egypt, Right- "The Bleeding Heart (Lamb of God), anon. oil on tin, 19th century, Mexico

ARAS Book of Symbols, Moon images- Full Moon and Autumn Flowers by the Stream, by Ogata Gekko (1859-1920), fan-shaped wood-block print, Meji period, ca. 1895, Japan.

*But is there was a fire, the only book I’d grab is my well worn copy of Even Cowgirls Get the Blues

About Beauty and Dreams

I'm just a lady in Portland, OR. Check out my blog! Drawings, collage and more!
This entry was posted in art, books and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

