Little Girl, Fluffy Hair

I saw you come in with your grandmother in a wheelchair.

It wasn’t the first time I saw you, she was berating you

again…

I felt jumpy and scared just listening to it, I tried to get close to you,

to put a little kindness in your day.. You wouldn’t meet my eyes.

I said, “I like your puppy. It’s cute.” A floppy stuffed animal.

You didn’t hear me.

The grandmother says, “Thank you!” Talking about the dog in her lap.

The dog in a coat that she kept screeching about, why she hoarded nickels and dimes away from you-

The dog needed a coat she said.

Jesus, I thought. She loves the dog more than the kid.

I know it’s wrong. Maybe she’s ill. Maybe somewhere in her icy, little heart she loves her. I should have compassion, reserve judgement..

But I wanted to climb in her lap

and slap that

screeching

mouth

shut.

Little girl, fluffy hair

Round cheeks and

tummy

and sad brown eyes…

If I had all the right words, I would write

a poem for you, a real one.

Tell you you are special

and loveable.. and worth the extra nickels

your grandmother begrudges you.

Little girl, fluffy hair

I hope you grow up and are strong enough

to love yourself.

2012 by: Chrissy Miles

About Beauty and Dreams

I'm just a lady in Portland, OR. Check out my blog! Drawings, collage and more!
This entry was posted in Children, Poems, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Little Girl, Fluffy Hair

  1. orples says:

    Ohhh, what a heartbreaking poem. I hope that wasn’t based on an actual experience, although it sounds as though it was. Children should be treasured, and so often this is not the case. So sad.

  2. Pingback: Love Shak, Baby » Life’s Precious Moments

  3. lesleehare says:

    Wow, Chrissy. Thank you for this, an thank you for sending her love. Namaste, leslee

  4. Oh you’re so sweet, writing this for that little girl.

    I hope the world would be kind to her.

Leave a Reply

