In praise of the harmonica – Lentil

Lentil, 1940

Another picture book! I  saw this at work and finally got around to reading it. It’s great. This book has character. Lentil wants to sing, but can’t. Neither can he whistle. All he can do is play the harmonica. There’s something about this book that reminds me of old-timey cartoons, a la Popeye. A grumpy old man dubbed, ‘Old Sneep’ sits on a roof sucking on a lemon and jeering at the town’s parade until Lentil comes along and saves the day by busting out a tune on his trusty harmonica.

It made me want to bust out my harmonica.

There’s this great drawing of him in a bathtub that says, “His favorite place to practice was in the bathtub because there his tone improved one hundred percent.’ I don’t have the book in front of me but found a site with great images.

About Beauty and Dreams

I'm just a lady in Portland, OR. Check out my blog! Drawings, collage and more!
This entry was posted in books, Children, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

