Collage Mini-Journals

Collage Mini-Journals, 2012 by: Chrissy Miles

I haven’t had much time to work on my other projects as much as I’ve wanted to; I’ve been busy. But I’ve made things! I made these mini-journals as party favors for a sleepover party for my daughter. They are hand sewn, and I tried to match the personality of each girl. the insides have collage borders and title pages in gold that say “(Their Name’s) Secrets.” They are small enough to fit in a pocket.

They also got some pocket fairy dust (which I incorporated some in the collage), some little inexpensive silver engraved rings (very magical), eye masks (for beauty sleep), and some mood pencils with star erasers (I didn’t have time to fashion fancy pens, I had to make do).

I was very proud, however one girl gently informed me that the sad thing about hers is that the forest is on fire. I had thought it was mist/red flowers! I said, “Well it has stars.. Let’s just say it’s on fire with magic!”

About Beauty and Dreams

I'm just a lady in Portland, OR. Check out my blog! Drawings, collage and more!
This entry was posted in Children, Collage, Crafts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Collage Mini-Journals

  1. Cassie says:

    You did a beautiful job. I’m kind of obsessed with these. And what girl wouldn’t be with a pocket for fairy dust. NICE!

  2. karexoxo says:

    WOW!! These are neat! I’m taking a bookmaking class right now at MSU and we learned how to make books. What did you do to bind them? I’ve learned a bunch of different ways of binding and stuff-one of our textbooks is this really great book “Handmade Books” by Kathy Blake. I had to buy like an awl and a bone folder and we sewed together books with needles and thread as our first bookmaking workshop. Our next project due is the alphabet book–mine is centered around xicanismo. I’ll be sure to post when my projects are done but your little journals are so cute! I’ve also been learning to use an old printing press for that class as well. It’s so interesting.

    • That sounds so fun. I sewed the pages together and attached the cover with adhesive and a paintbrush. Originally, I was going to make little cloth covered books, a craft I did with my daughter awhile back out of her “Daring Book for Girls,” except on a smaller scale. I was running short on time, so I made up these! All your new skills will be so much fun to play with. Please do post when they’re done!

Leave a Reply

