Kid’s Books for Grown Folks – Wildwood

Before I say anything, I want you all to check out Books & Bowel Movements recent post on this book. It is amazing, and way better written than anything I can come up with. Also, follow her blog. She is a lovely bookish lady and blogs like a pro. I will provide a brief synopsis, however:

This is a beautiful book that takes place in my hometown Portland, OR. It’s written by musician Colin Meloy of Decemberist fame, and illustrated by his wife, artist Carson Ellis. I grew up in St. Johns, from about the time when I was 9 years old, where the protagonist, a little girl named, Prue, is from, and I recognized many of the places. I used to ride my bike to the library mentioned in the book, bringing books home on my handlebars.  The same library, outside of which the story picks up, when Prue’s baby brother is kidnapped by a gang of crows and taken to Wildwood, the name  given to Portland’s very own Forest Park. Many of the places in the book are real places, even the streets. I don’t just like it because it takes place in Portland, it’s very well written and a great read.

Side note! This book vaugely reminds me of the movie Labyrinth in the sense that the girl’s brother gets kidnapped to a magical world and she has to save him and meets this whole cast of characters along the way. Sans David Bowie.

"Dance, magic, dance!"

About Beauty and Dreams

I'm just a lady in Portland, OR. Check out my blog! Drawings, collage and more!
This entry was posted in books, Children and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kid’s Books for Grown Folks – Wildwood

  1. Cassie says:

    Ummm…where is the Colin story! You told it so well in my comments. I loved that. Now, you have to write a whole other blog with just that. It’s okay to feel embarrassed – but the (brace yourself) is TOO WONDERFUL.

Leave a Reply

