Thich Nhat Hanh Quote on Abuse

I thought this was worth sharing. I was so grateful to Thich Nhat Han for penning these words when I read them. I was reminded of them when I did my Bodhisattva post the other day:

Thich Nhat Hanh

Those who have been sexually abused have the capacity to become great bodhisattvas, helping many children. Your mind of love can transform your own grief and pain, and you can share your insight with others. This is Right Action, and it frees you and those around you. When you practice to help others around you, at the same time you are helping yourself.” -Thich Nhat Hanh “The Heart of the Buddha’s Teaching”

He mentions sexual abuse, but I think it counts toward any kind of abuse really, and I think there are a lot of truth to these words. The subject matter is heavy, but I shared them because of the possibility it could be helpful to others.

About Beauty and Dreams

I'm just a lady in Portland, OR. Check out my blog! Drawings, collage and more!
This entry was posted in Children, Philosophy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thich Nhat Hanh Quote on Abuse

  1. orples says:

    Thich Nhat Han has such a kind face. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if that could be said about humanity as a whole? This is a wonderful message to extend to others. Thanks for sharing.


    Thank you for sharing this wise quote by Thich Nhat Hanh.
    I believe the Bodhisattva is what Carl Jung called a wounded healer.
    It is those that have walked through the fire or the dark night of the soul that potentially have the wisdom and compassion to teach, help others and to heal.

  3. Pingback: When Another Person Makes You Suffer « Wisdom and Life

Leave a Reply

