What People Talk About Before Dying

I recently read this article on CNN by a hospice chaplain who has talked to many people before dying. She answers the question, “What do the sick and dying talk about?” Mostly? They talk about their families:

Neolithic Couple, Italy

“…They talk about the love they felt, and the love they gave.  Often they talk about love they did not receive, or the love they did not know how to offer, the love they withheld, or maybe never felt for the ones they should have loved unconditionally..

Elephant Friends

“…We don’t live our lives in our heads, in theology and theories.  We live our lives in our families:  the families we are born into, the families we create, the families we make through the people we choose as friendsThis is where we create our lives, this is where we find meaning, this is where our purpose becomes clear..” -Kerry Egan, Hospice Chaplain, Massachusetts

Something to think about!

About Beauty and Dreams

I'm just a lady in Portland, OR. Check out my blog! Drawings, collage and more!
This entry was posted in Philosophy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What People Talk About Before Dying

  1. orples says:

    I make it a point when I talk to my kids on the phone to end every call with the words “I love you”. There is nothing in life that is guaranteed, including tomorrow. Other than that, I’m not worried about dying. When my number is up, it’s up. Why waste life worrying about it?

  2. Roberlina says:

    I believe Love is the meaning of life, life is love, all that is is love. maybe that’s why they talk about love before leaving the body. I’m learning acceptance and forgiveness at the moment: I know they’re great tools to be even more opened to give and receive love. Thanks!

  3. Your welcome! I thought it was a sweet way of expressing that at the end of the day what seems to matter is the people in our lives, how we impact them, our lived experience. Both of these comments remind me of a quote I love: “Laughter is holier than piety, freedom is sweeter than fame, and in the end it’s love, and love alone that really matters.” -Tom Robbins

Leave a Reply

