Kid’s Books for Grown Folks – Pinocchio

Circus Roberlina’s recent post of a Collodi story reminded me of another “Kid’s Book for Grown Folks”- (a kid’s book that grown ups might still enjoy): Pinocchio.

I love this old copy. I originally got it for my daughter, but maybe I was a bit premature.. This story is a bit dark at times and some of the humor was over her head! So for now it sits on my shelf.

This one has some funny illustrations.

“The Adventures of Pinocchio” Grosset & Dunlap, 1965:

Partial table of contents. The chapter headings are like little stories themselves! #29 is a favorite.

illustration by: Mariano Leone

illustration by: Mariano Leone

illustration by: Mariano Leone

Did you know that in the original Pinocchio, Geppetto is swallowed by a dogfish (sea monster) not a whale like in the Disney movie? There is a funny illustration of a gaping shark-like mouth and Geppetto and Pinocchio escaping through it. (That one didn’t come out. :P)

There was a movie a few years back with Roberto Benigni as Pinocchio and his wife Nicoletta Braschi as the Blue Fairy. I believe it got mixed reviews, but I really liked it. I love the joy he brings to everything. Larger than life.

Roberto Benigni as “Pinocchio”

About Beauty and Dreams

I'm just a lady in Portland, OR. Check out my blog! Drawings, collage and more!
This entry was posted in books, Children and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kid’s Books for Grown Folks – Pinocchio

  1. orples says:

    Pinocchio is one of those timeless masterpieces that will, no doubt, outlive us all. It is a wonderful story, whether in word or on film. Nice post. 🙂

  2. Roberlina says:

    Il terribile Pescecane (Dogfish)! 🙂 When I was a child I haven’t swum too far from the beach for years because I was scared to be swallowed by it!!!

Leave a Reply

