Forever With Child

Audre Lorde

Audre Lorde is one of my heroes . She wrote a couple of my favorite poems. One of them is on my mind today because of my friend who became a mother today:

Now That I’m Forever With Child

 

“How the days went
while you were blooming within me
I remember each upon each—
the swelling changed planes of my body
and how you first fluttered, then jumped
and I thought it was my heart…

…I bore you one morning just before spring
My head rang like a fiery piston
my legs were towers between which
A new world was passing

Since then
I can only distinguish
one thread within running hours
You, flowing through selves
toward You.”

-Audre Lorde

About Beauty and Dreams

I'm just a lady in Portland, OR. Check out my blog! Drawings, collage and more!
This entry was posted in Children, Poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Forever With Child

  1. clinock says:

    I am happy for your friend’s birth – I also have a friend who will give birth any day now – perhaps it is happening as I write. The poem is beautiful and, although I’m not a woman I can connect – I was present and helping at both of my son’s births and will never forget the pain and miraculous joy of that time…

  2. Yeah, it is bittersweet. For me I think it captures the same essence of the Gibran piece. You bring them into the world and watch them shoot like an arrow from you toward who they will be.

Leave a Reply

