A Fire in the Mind

Image

I don’t know where to begin so I guess I will begin here. Reading Joseph Campbell’s bio ‘A Fire in the Mind’. I got it for my birthday. Taken largely from journals, letters and interviews with people who knew him.

I’m not very far in but so far good! At one point in the beginning 19-yr-old Campbell writes in his journal, “I sat around after dinner and looked wise.” I think I’ve been guilty of that myself! 🙂

It is interesting to see his insight as his religious view change. He writes this profound thing: “Christ certainly had a knowledge of the Universe and therefore was able to perform his miracles by an application of most advanced chemistry and physics..” Another insight: “We must die before we understand the mystery of life. We’ve been put on this earth to work and wonder.” He speculates that if we knew the mysteries of the universe its point would cease.

Currently at the part where he meets Krishnamurti on a ship during a trip to Europe with his family and he is exposed to the teachings of the East..

*Sigh* What a life! ❤

About Beauty and Dreams

I'm just a lady in Portland, OR. Check out my blog! Drawings, collage and more!
This entry was posted in books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Fire in the Mind

  1. clinock says:

    Campbell had an enormous influence on my life. His ‘Hero’s Journey’ (‘The Hero with a Thousand Faces’) was introduced to me in a creative dance class where we were challenged to express the ‘Journey’ through movement. Since then I have related everything I’ve done in my life to this idea. I haven’t read his auto- biography so I thank you for introducing me to it….

  2. It’s interesting to see how his spirituality evolved and his path to mythology developed. He studied a lot of disciplines before he arrived at it. Have you seen any of his videos? I loved ‘Mythos’ and ‘Hero’s Journey’..

    I forgot to mention that just when I started this book I was struck by a funny coincidence. I was caught in the crossfire of two boys playing cowboys and Indians and hit with a volley of fake arrows. In the first chapter, “The Boy Who Loved Indians” the first page quotes him as being fascinated with an image of a “figure of a naked American Indian with his ear to the ground, a bow and arrow in his hand, and a look of special knowledge in his eyes”. Not sure if I mentioned before that my mother instilled in me a love and respect for Native Americans and that she has a degree in Native American studies.. Just more everyday magic.

  3. clinock says:

    Confluence upon confluence – magic is afoot – but I’m sad to know that children still re-enact those tragic historical events…

Leave a Reply

