Soul Friends

I love the term Anam Cara (soul friend).  I think it’s possible to have deep mysterious connections with a handful of people throughout your life.

I read John O’ Donohue’s book, Anam Cara: Book of Celtic Wisdom when I was 16 and it was one of those books that changed my life forever. I went out and bought several copies and gave them to all my close friends.

I especially love the concept of love as ancient recognition. I recalled the book today and looking back through it to find some words of beauty to share it’s too hard because I believe it’s all beautiful.

It could be a meeting on the street, or a party or a lecture, or just a simple, banal introduction, then suddenly there is a flash of recognition and the embers of kinship glow. There is an awakening between you, a sense of ancient knowing.

Irish poet John O’Donohue

More wisdom: “If you send out goodness from yourself, or if you share that which is happy and good within you, it will all come back to you multiplied ten thousand times. In the kingdom of love there is no competition; there is no possessiveness or control. The more love you give away, the more love you will have.” 

All quotes from: Anam Cara: A Book of Celtic Wisdom by: John O’Donohue

image credit: John O’Donohue photo, To Take Some Time

Be well friends. ❤

About Beauty and Dreams

I'm just a lady in Portland, OR. Check out my blog! Drawings, collage and more!
This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Soul Friends

  1. clinock says:

    His words hit home as did yours. I will be looking out for this book…

  2. Please do! It is a good one. I just looked him up again, and, can you believe it? He has several other books I haven’t read but I will be soon -including a follow-up to Anam-Cara on the subject of beauty no less!

Leave a Reply

