I Don’t Want to See the Truth..

"I'm Lying to Myself" pen and ink, 2011, by: Chrissy Miles

I’m lying to myself…

About Beauty and Dreams

I'm just a lady in Portland, OR. Check out my blog! Drawings, collage and more!
This entry was posted in Drawings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Don’t Want to See the Truth..

  1. John Clinock says:

    Like your drawing Chrissy but am confused about its caption. What truth do you not want to see? I guess we all “lie” to ourselves in non-harmful ways about some aspects of our lives in order to make it all more bearable. Picasso said, “Art is the lie that tells the truth”. Be gentle with your self.

  2. Tincup says:

    Those that can catch fleeting glimpses of the Truth know both great joy and sorrow.

  3. I guess it’s about knowing the disappointing reality of something but carrying on as if you didn’t see it- because to see it means having to change and maybe sacrificing something we wanted.. We aren’t the only ones dreaming this world and life often makes our sacrifices for us. Whether we want it or not. C’est la vie! Sooner or later we have to change or let go.. and dream up something new. Something that has a better chance of becoming a reality.

    Maybe at times we deny the truth to give ourselves hope? Like Clinock was saying. To make life more interesting and bearable.. The lead character from the film, Amelie, comes to mind. I relate to her.. She retreats to a fantasy world, out of sensitivity.. which can be cowardly. The truth is harsh sometimes.

    • Tincup says:

      I know what you mean. My brother gave me a good term the other day when I was feeling depressed and tired of fighting….”Amor Fati”…..look it up if you don’t already know what it means.

Leave a comment